Guam Buddhist Sangha

American Humanistic Buddhism

Amy and Sophia’s Loving Kindness Prayer May 23, 2010

Filed under: Youth Workshop — memeandbojo @ 11:36 am

Each night before I close my eyes to sleep, I say this prayer for me, for you and for every living being. I hope you can say it too. It begins:

I love myself.

May I be free from anger, May I be free from sadness, May I be free from pain. May I be free from difficulties. May I be free from all suffering, May my body be healthy and strong. May I be filled with loving-kindness. May I be happy. May I be at peace.

I send loving-kindness to Mom and Dad. May they be free from anger and sadness. May they be free from pain and sickness. May they be free from difficulties. May they be free from all suffering. May Mom and Dad be healthy and happy. May they be at peace.

I send loving-kindness to my brother, May he be free from anger and sadness, May he be free from pain and sickness, May he be free from difficulties, May he be free from all suffering, May he be healthy and happy, May he be at peace.

I send love now to all the people that I don’t know.

May all beings of all kinds, in all directions be happy and at peace, Near and far, high and low, Human and non-humans, Seen and unseen, All the animals and birds, and fishes, All beings and creatures, with no exceptions, May they be free from suffering, May they all be happy, May they be at peace.

I open my heart and accept loving-kindness of every being and creature in return, I let that love into my heart.

 

3 Responses to “Amy and Sophia’s Loving Kindness Prayer”

  1. Joseph Says:

    It’s a lovely prayer, isn’t it~ ^_^
    _/\_ thank you!

  2. Amy Says:

    So delighted to see this!! =)

  3. Carol Holland Says:

    I am happy that my grandaughter is being exposed to such a positive prayer.


Leave a Reply

